Baby news!

Standard

I’m going to skip all of the ‘sorry I never post’ or ‘here’s my introduction’ stuff because if I write it, I will never get to my original point. Survivor is coming on. Matt is obsessed. So. I’m sort of obligated to watch and understand what he’s talking about.

Today is Wednesday. I’m forgetful, so I’m keeping track.

On Monday, November 14th, this happened…

Baby number two!We got a BFP! (A Big Fat Positive, for all you not-trying-to-concieve folks) Technically, it’s not all that fat, since it’s not a dark line at all. Buttttt, it is a positive. If you’re unaware, any sort of second line, faint or not, is a positive. The darker it is, the more HCG hormone you have. Anyway, my period was due but never came. So, on a whim, I decided to take a at home pregnancy test. I take them often, because I have a bagillion of them and, why not? So I took one. At night. You’re supposed to take one in the morning- the hormone will be more concentrated then. Obviously I was not assuming I would get two lines! Alas, there they are. Cute little lines!! I’ll take another one on Friday. If the line is lighter or gone then I’ll go get my blood drawn. They will see if my HCG is dropping, which could indicate a miscarriage. We will see.

I could go off into a thousand directions from here! I could talk about my birth plans or my past experiences. I’m going to talk about fried cucumbers.

Does the idea of a cucumber, battered in some delish batter, deep fried, turn you off? How about if someone drizzled chocolate on it? Because that’s all I can think about. Deep friend cucumbers. Matt is DISGUSTED. He thinks that sounds terrible. I think it sounds ahmazing! I feel like I could start a business selling them! THIS IS AMERICA! People like everything deep fried. Can you tell I’m pregnant? All I want is salty foods covered in chocolate. Like, french fries. Dipped in chocolate. I’ve been snacking on some Sweet n’ Salty Peanut bars. And the almond version. Yum.

I am 4 weeks and 4 days pregnant today. That means that my little embryo is only 2 weeks and 4 days old. How crazy is that?! I know so early compared to most woman! I found out I was pregnant with Lily when I was 6 weeks and 1 day pregnant. I’ve got a fancy iPhone app, iPeriod (orginal name, I know), that I use on a regular basis. I chart my periods, when Matt and I do the deed, and it tells me when I ovulate. It estimates all of that based on my past periods. It averages the length and the time in between. Fancy! I love it. Well, because I’m a super tracker, I know exactly when I ovulated and the closest day to that. Matt and I had sex on October 29th, and I ovulated on October 30th. So! There’s an easy way to know how old my little bean is.

That means that this little guy is-

Weight: <1/10th of an ounce (<2.8 g)  TEENY.

Length: 0.05 inches (0.1 cm) YEAH.

Smaller than a sesame seed. Go get some chinese. Imagine that in my uterus.

How I feel-

TIRED. I fell asleep at 7:45PM last night. Right after Lily went to sleep. I got up at 8AM with her and we snuggled on the couch until 9:30AM. I’m exhausted. I did an hour’s worth of dishes today because I hadn’t done dishes for three days. I did some laundry. I cleaned the house. I called three doctors and two insurance companies and made a to-do list. At about 4:30PM I got a back ache and some belly weirdness, so I sat down and rested. I’m sort of worried. I’m going to take it easy for now.

What I’m taking-

Prenatal from Walmart. Whatever brand that is. We just grabbed one while we were out. I plan on getting some prenatals with DHA in them, or at least picking up a separate pill with DHA. If I get queasy(which starts hitting around 6 weeks-yuck) then I’ll start taking some vitamin B6. If I get bad acid reflux again, then I’ll probably search around for some papaya enzyme. I heard that it has really helped some women, and I’d rather take something natural than something like Prevacid.

Baby Prep-

I found a doctor I REALLY like on Tuesday. I googled for over an hour. I searched for OB’s, midwives, and doulas. I searched in multiple surrounding areas. I like her. The office is over a half an hour away, but Matt said that’s fine. He has been more than supportive. I also don’t plan on going to every single appointment as I did with my last pregnancy. If there is no reason for me to go, then why go? I plan on buying a fetal doppler for home. The one I want is here. That website turns me off. I really don’t know the legality of at-home dopplers. I think I once heard that you’re not allowed to purchase one unless you’re a MD, but, eh. We’ll see. I wouldn’t use it often. Just once a month to check up, or in case of an emergency. We’ll see.

My Birth Plan-

So far, it’s just rough ideas. I would like a natural birth for sure. No unnecessary interventions. No pain medications. Alternative therapies. I would be interested in a home birth, but I don’t see that happening. I maybe would be interested in a water birth. I will have a lot more clarity after I meet my doctor.

Really, I’m only four weeks along, so I have A LOT of time to set things into stone.

Oh, by the way, I’m “due” July 21st, 2011. I put due in quotation marks because I hate that society calls it a due date. It should be maybe date. A could-be date. So many people assume that because it say’s ‘due’ that a baby has to come by that point or there is something wrong. So many woman have inductions because HEY, MY BABY WAS DUE THEN! NOW IT’S LATE. THIS IS BAD. No. They should set a ‘due’ date at 42 weeks so women chill out. This baby can come July 7th, or in August. I don’t care. I am not concerned with when my baby comes, as long as it is healthy and strong. I digress.

Belly Pictures!!-

Obviously, no visible bump.

All done now 🙂

3 responses »

  1. You have your follow feed turned off girlie. Switch it over and I will add you to my list of mommy blogs.

    atomicbaby aka Xza aka thankgoodnessforpickles.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

