23 Weeks Pregnant- Catching Up

Standard

My computer cord has finally arrived, so that means I can finally blog again.

How far along I am: 23 weeks today. 15-19 left to go! (Read: I’m comfortable going past my due date. I should write a separate post about this…I hate that a ‘due date’ is thought of as in expiration date instead of a estimated time of arrival)

Weight: 130! That’s 10 pounds more than I was when I got pregnant. When I saw 129 on the scale, it registered fine with me. However, when I saw 130 on the scale at my midwife’s home…I sort of jumped. I’m not 100% sure why. I’m comfortable with gaining weight. I know I need to gain weight. I know the weight I have gained is mostly baby. I know that I’m on the right track. I suppose I’ve always sort of obsessed about the number on the scale, so seeing it out of the 120’s was surprising. The weight I’ve always been most happy with is 112. I don’t know why! That’s a few pounds underweight. I like being skinny. I like being that skinny. I saw a picture of myself from last summer and was surprised- I WAS SKINNY. I was bony. I didn’t look good. And I loved my weight at that point. I like having control of my weight. It’s not healthy. Hm. Something to keep an eye on.

What I’m taking: One regular prenatal a day, and 4 1,000IU’s of vitamin D3. I’d like to start taking a magnesium supplement, but I’m going to talk to Merideth first. I’ve read that it can help with leg cramps. I had terrible leg cramps with my first pregnancy- ones that would wake me up at night and make me cry. So, of course, I’d like to prevent them. My calves have been feeling sore lately and  my skin has been tighter, which most likely means that they’re a little bit swollen.

Baby’s weight: 1.2 pounds (544 g) POUNDS PEOPLE. Almost as much as Sam’s chihuahua.

Baby’s length: 8.4 inches (21.3 cm) One app says this, and one app says 11 inches. Maybe 11 inches head to toe, and 8.4 inches from crown to rump? The length of a mango. Imagine having something 11 inches long just hanging out, kicking around inside of your belly. Babers is big.

How I feel physically: Okay. Acid reflux on a daily basis, but not bad. My hips hurt terribly if I carry Lily around. I get sciatica pains down my lower back right into my hips. For awhile it was just on my left side, towards to back of my hip(almost like in my butt cheek!), and now it’s both hips and is bothering both the front and back. Merideth said to call a chiropractor. She told me to get adjusted as often as I need to. She also said it will just get worse the farther along I get…the more weight on my hips and back, the more pinching my nerves will get. If you’ve never experienced nerve pain, its a zingy sharp stabbing kind of pain. It’s bad enough to make me yelp. To a chiropractor I go.

How I feel mentally: Sad. I’ve been debating whether I should go into details or not…right now, I’m not feeling it. I’ve been lonely. I’m not sure how much more hormones are at play, but crying on a daily basis is not normal. I can say that I’m not depressed. I wondered for awhile if I was falling into another state of depression, but I know I’m not. I am, however, worried about postpartum depression. I was surprised I didn’t after I had Lily- I assumed after struggling with bouts of depression for years that it would hit hard after her birth, but it didn’t. At all. I’m not going to risk it this time though. I’d like to have the placenta encapsulated- cue the gross noises. It’s gross but not that gross. Humans are the only species on the planet that doesn’t eat the placenta after birth. Read about it! Educate yourselves. There are a ton of known benefits, and I’m sure there’s a ton of unknown benefits as well. I’m sure Matt will gag when he hears about this…

Preparations: Well, I can honestly say I’ve been productive! I’m not sure what I’ve already written on here. I’ve read ‘Birthing From Within’ by Pam England. It’s a book I’d recommend, but it’s not for everyone. It’s focused around dealing with, and conquering, fears about birth. Finding your inner birth peace. A lot of people reviewed it as too hippie-ish, but I thought it was fine.

I’m currently halfway through ‘Ina May’s Guide to Childbirth’ by Ina May Gaskin. The first half is natural birth stories written by women who birthed on The Farm. The Farm is a small community in Tennessee. It offered women in the ’70s a place to go birth their children safely and naturally, with the support of many women and midwives. They offered support to women who were pregnant but didn’t want abortions. I’m not sure how busy they are now. Anyway, most of the stories are similar. I’m bored. Yes, they’re all positive and empowering to read. But not a single birth that I’ve read so far was a multiple birth, or a water birth, or a complicated birth. Every birth was simple. Hm. The second half of the book is written by Ina May Gaskin. I’m hoping that’s the ‘guide’ part. I plan on buying two more of her books- ‘Ina May’s Guide to Breastfeeding’ and ‘Spiritual Midwifery’.

I just got ‘The Birth Partner’ by Penny Simkin for Matt to read. I skimmed through it and I’d like to read it myself. It’s super informative! It’s packed full. It not only explains birth from a medical standpoint, but it offers a ton of different ways to support the birthing woman, as well as multiple sections on unexpected situations, like cesarean births. I understand why it has a five star rating on Amazon.

Along with that book, I got ‘HypnoBirthing- The Mongan Method’ by Marie Mongan. Merideth asked me to get this. She is a licensed HypnoBirthing teacher. She offered to teach me herself, but she understands we are on a budget and that we don’t have $200 extra. She said that I could get the book and learn the methods myself. It comes with an audio CD. It’s sort of hard to explain what hypnobirthing is…when I tell people that you hypnotize yourself in labor to minimize pain, people sort of freak out. Like, what the hell is this hippie stuff? It is that, but much more. You just learn to relax and focus internally. Think of it this way- the more relaxed you are, the less you’ll suffer through your labor. If you’re scared/anxious/tense then you’ll focus on the pain and fight against it, which will just make it far worse. Hypnobirthing teaches the techniques to get yourself in a totally relaxed and calm place. You then can work with your labor instead of against it. It makes sense to me! I’m thankful I read ‘Birthing From Within’ first. I really understand this concept thanks to that book. I haven’t started reading the hypnobirthing book yet, but I will. Merideth has a birth video on her Facebook page(Family Tree Midwifery of Central New York). The birth is wonderful. The woman is in a birthing tub and is silent through most of her labor. She’s practicing hypnobirthing. I recommend you watch it.

Other news: I saw Merideth again last week. It was a pleasant appointment. My mother came with me. No peeing in a cup, no internal exam. We listened to the baby’s heartbeat with her doppler, took my blood pressure, and weighed me. Then talked. And talked. We talked about going into early labor. We discussed medicines that are safe and unsafe. We worked through my fear of her not getting to my apartment in time. (I’m a stubborn person, so if someone asks me how I’m doing, 99% of the time I’ll say I’m fine. I don’t know if I have a high pain tolerance or what, but seriously, 99% of the time I am fine. I don’t want her to believe me! I don’t want her to think she has time when she doesn’t. I’m assuming I’ll say I’m fine until transition, and that’s nearly the end! She reassured me and said she would leave her house at my first sign of labor. Even if that means she’ll be hanging out with me for two days straight, sleeping on my couch, and watching tv. She said she promised that she would not miss it! Have I said I love her yet? Well,  I do. She’s a good woman.) We also talked about my diet, my safety(she doesn’t want me falling because of my beloved flipflops), and my hip pain. We talked about the next time I’ll have bloodwork done and why. We talked about testing. She wrote down everything I’ve done so far to prepare, what we want to talk about next time, what to email me…she emailed me information on the flu shot. She has to legally offer it to me. She sent me information that supports the shot and information that is against the shot. HOW MANY DOCTOR’S LET YOU MAKE INFORMED DECISIONS LIKE THAT? Seriously? We even digressed a bunch and talked about how I dislike Lily’s pediatrician.

How many OB’s ask you what fears you may have about labor and birth? How many doctor’s want to address them directly to resolve them? Merideth and I have talked about my heartbreak over breastfeeding. We’ve talked about my fear of bleeding out. We’ve talked about my fear of her missing the birth. We’ve even discussed what will happen if I poo in the birthing tub. Hey, it can happen! I love her.

What else? Tyson tried to hump Lily today and scratched the hell out of her back. She immediately screamed and was hysterical. He scrambled into the kitchen. She has six long scratches from her lower back to the middle of her bum. They were swollen and very red when I put her to bed. I know he didn’t mean to hurt her, but he is really rough. He loses his mind when he’s humping. He’s getting fixed asap.

I started making a baby registry on Amazon. I’d make one at Walmart.com but all of the stuff I want is available through Walmart. There are a bunch of things that I do want that Walmart sells, but not all. I’d like to get things I actually want this time around. Like an amber teething necklace, cloth dipes, and a Sophie the Giraffe.

We went to the zoo. We got lost getting there and that was awful. Lily was terrified of the goat because it was fairly close to her. She screamed “NOOOOOOO” and jumped away. She wasn’t interested in the close animals. The California Condor moved closer to the fence and she freaked out. The bat’s flew around behind the glass and she freaked out. Of course, anything that somewhat resembled a cat was her favorite. She picked out a leopard stuffed animal before we left. She calls it her “baby kitty”.

That male cat that was hanging around finally left- whew. He was spraying everywhere.

Matt got a fourwheeler. And a boat. And a few other boats that he’s selling.

Lily got four new diaper covers.

I need my hair cut.

I keep dreaming of breastfeeding a new baby.

I picked out the wrap I want- a Girasol Amitola. (Techincally I want the yellow one. That link is for only the yellow weft. There’s a ton of other color combos.) It’s expensive but GORGEOUS. I mean, look at that thing. My mom said she’d get me whatever one I wanted. It’s the gold standard in wraps. Woven. Hand made.

I like that I can understand spending $130+ on one long piece of (AMAZING) fabric but I get anxiety when I spend over $10 on a shirt for myself.

 

How has everyone else been?

About Mama Wolf

I'm a young mama to two babes and a wife to my wonderful husband. I love all things 'crunchy'. I'm just trying to make this world a better place and learn from others :) Join me on my journey!

5 responses »

  1. I can’t believe you are already twenty three weeks. That seems like insanity! Didn’t we just move??? This is the first baby I’m missing watch grow and it’s sooo sad. But I’m so happy that you post on here. It makes it a tiny bit easier! So thanks for the updates, and know I’m always here for you even if it’s only through the phone or computer…

    • I know that, and I appreciate it. Things have been rough lately. Things I know you’ve been through before! But I can feel change on the way, so I’m trying to stay positive.

      It’s hard going from having a ton of women surrounding me to having no one here. Even if the advice wasn’t always welcome, at least I had someone to vent to at every turn.

      I need to get my license. Even if I don’t go places all the time…just having it will be a huge relief. It’s hard to feel trapped AND alone!

      Sent from my iPhone

      • I know it’s been tough. And part of it has to be the pregnancy. Hopefully once the little guy is here things will be easier. If not, you change what you can and feel better from there. I totally agree that we have the ability to decide how we feel.

        As far as babies go – I totally think that I did that hypnobirthing with Emma without knowing that’s what it was called. I kept meditating and relaxing and getting myself into a happy zone. Marge was great for helping me work with my body not against it. I totally believe Logan’s birth was awful because the Stadol prevented me from being able to do. So yay hypnobirthing! You aren’t crazy and I totally believe it.

        And for sure call Jess and have her bring you treats and good conversations! 🙂

  2. You can call me anytime and I’ll come visit if you’re lonely! I like listening to you talk about what you want for you babies..I might not be able to empathize but I still care, and don’t want you to be sad!

Leave a Reply

